District of Chilliwack

Bylaw No. 404

A bylaw to establish the number of members of the Council of the District of Chilliwack

WHEREAS by Letters Patent dated September 21, 1979, The City of Chilliwack and The Corporation of the Township of Chilliwhack were dissolved and incorporated as the District of Chilliwack on, from and after the First Day of January, 1980;

AND WHEREAS said Letters Patent provided for a Council consisting of a Mayor and eight Aldermen;

AND WHEREAS it is deemed desirable to reduce to six, the number of Aldermen elected to Council;

THEREFORE the Council of the District of Chilliwack in open meeting assembled enacts as follows:

- 1. This bylaw may be cited for all purposes as the "Council Size Reduction Bylaw 1983, No. 404".
- 2. Pursuant to the provisions of Section 209 of the Municipal Act R.S.B.C. 1979, Chapter 290, the Council of the District of Chilliwack shall consist of six members exclusive of the Mayor.
- 3. Four members shall constitute a quorum.
- 4. In order to provide for the uninterrupted transition from the prior Council:
 - (a) At the Annual Election to be held in the year 1984, four members of Council shall be elected and they shall serve a one year term;
 - (b) At the Annual Election to be held in 1985, three members of Council shall be elected to serve a two year term and three members of Council shall be elected to serve a one year term;

(c) At the Annual Election to be held in 1986 and at subsequent annual elections, three members of Council shall be elected for a two year term.

Received first reading on the 11th day of October, 1983.

Received second reading on the 24th day of October, 1983.

Received third reading on the 24th day of October, 1983.

Received the assent of the electors on the 19th day of November, 1983.

Reconsidered, finally passed and adopted on the 16th day of January, 1984.

"J. Jansen"	
	Mayor
	. 1
(N. "C. Waugh"	
7	Clerk